How to love yourself — the 7 things I learned from 3 years of exploration

Jess Semaan
8 min readJul 23, 2016

When I married myself a little under 3 years ago at Burning Man, I foolishly thought that it was the beginning of my happily ever after. Only to have learned, sometimes the hard way, that loving myself is going to be a long journey, one I am going to be tempted to quit every other day.

But I have not, and just like any marriage, I have been faced with challenges that humbled me, and magic and beauty that astounded me.

First things first. Why loving oneself?

Aside from reading all the articles about it, believing the Buddha, Jung, etc., who preach self-love, I personally experienced that whenever I did not beat myself up too much, or I got myself off the hook about a mistake, I was a kinder and more compassionate person to my community, family, friends and employees.

Since my goal in life is to reach my compassion potential, I was sold on this journey.

But, what is self-love?

You should love yourself,

said your spiritual friend.

What does it practically mean?

Silence…

Self-love to me is a bit like a romantic partnership

--

--